Counties of Scotland

Flag of Scotland
Image by Cayetano
In Scotland, the term county is now officially used to mean the Registration Counties that are used for land registration.

Local government is operated by a separate subdivision of the country into Council Areas.

And, finally, another subdivision of the country, into Lieutenancy Areas, is used for the ceremonial Lord Lieutenants, the representatives of the UK monarch in Scotland.

Counties of England

Counties of England
Image by
England is divided into 48 counties, that together cover all of the country. These counties are commonly called the geographical counties of England for that reason.

Each county has a county town, which historically was the administrative centre for local government and was often the largest town in the county.

Countries in the United Kingdom (UK)

Map of the UK
Image by
The UK consists of four countries: England, Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland. More formally, these four countries form the sovereign state known as the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, which itself is also described as a country.