Countries in the United Kingdom (UK)

Map of the UK
Image by
The UK consists of four countries: England, Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland. More formally, these four countries form the sovereign state known as the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, which itself is also described as a country.

Populations of the countries in the UK

According to the Office for National Statistics, the 2011 census showed that the population of the UK was 63.2 million. The populations of the four constituent countries are shown in this table:
England53.0 milion
Scotland5.2 million
Wales3.1 million
Northern Ireland1.8 million

Capital cities of the countries in the UK

London is the capital city of the UK. Each of the four constituent countries also have their own capital cities, as shown in this table:
CountryCapital city
Northern IrelandBelfast

Geography of the UK

The UK is located off the north-western coast of mainland Europe, and has France as its nearest continental neighbour. The UK consists of the following land masses:
  • the island of Great Britain
  • the north-eastern corner of the island of Ireland
  • many smaller islands

Related posts

Counties of England
Counties of Northern Ireland
Counties of Scotland
Counties of Wales