Counties of Scotland

Flag of Scotland
Image by Cayetano
In Scotland, the term county is now officially used to mean the Registration Counties that are used for land registration.

Local government is operated by a separate subdivision of the country into Council Areas.

And, finally, another subdivision of the country, into Lieutenancy Areas, is used for the ceremonial Lord Lieutenants, the representatives of the UK monarch in Scotland.

Registration Counties in Scotland

The Registration Counties in Scotland were defined by the Land Registration (Scotland) Act 1979, and were based on the counties as they had existed in the previous legislation, the Land Registers (Scotland) act 1868.
The Registration Counties of Scotland are:
  • County of Renfrew
  • County of Dumbarton
  • County of Lanark
  • County of the Barony and Regality of Glasgow
  • County of Clackmannan
  • County of Stirling
  • County of West Lothian
  • County of Fife
  • County of Aberdeen
  • County of Kincardine
  • County of Ayr
  • County of Dumfries
  • County of Kirkcudbright
  • County of Wigtown
  • County of Angus
  • County of Kinross
  • County of Perth
  • County of Berwick
  • County of East Lothian
  • County of Peebles
  • County of Roxburgh
  • County of Selkirk
  • County of Argyll
  • County of Bute
  • County of Midlothian
  • County of Inverness
  • County of Nairn
  • County of Banff
  • County of Caithness
  • County of Moray
  • Counties of Orkney and Zetland
  • County of Ross and Cromarty
  • County of Sutherland

Council Areas of Scotland

The Council Areas were created by the Local Government etc. (Scotland) Act 1994, and have existed since April 1 1996. The act as unitary authorities, and are often known as councils.
The Council Areas of Scotland are:
  • Aberdeen City
  • Aberdeenshire
  • Angus
  • Argyll and Bute
  • Clackmannanshire
  • Dumfries and Galloway
  • Dundee City
  • East Ayrshire
  • East Dunbartonshire
  • East Lothian
  • East Renfrewshire
  • City of Edinburgh
  • Falkirk
  • Fife
  • Glasgow City
  • Highland
  • Inverclyde
  • Midlothian
  • Moray
  • North Ayrshire
  • North Lanarkshire
  • Perth and Kinross
  • Renfrewshire
  • Scottish Borders
  • South Ayrshire
  • South Lanarkshire
  • Stirling
  • West Dunbartonshire
  • West Lothian
  • Na h-Eileanan Siar
  • Orkney Islands
  • Shetland Islands

Lieutenancy Areas of Scotland

The Lieutenancy Areas of Scotland are the areas used for the ceremonial Lord Lieutenants, the representatives of the UK monarch in Scotland.
The Lord Provosts of the cities Aberdeen, Dundee, Edinburgh, and Glasgow are the Lord Lieutenants for their area. All other Lord Lieutenants in the UK are appointed by the Monarch, rather than being elected politicians.
The Lieutenancy Areas of Scotland are:
  • Aberdeen
  • Aberdeenshire
  • Angus
  • Argyll and Bute
  • Ayrshire and Arran
  • Banffshire
  • Berwickshire
  • Caithness
  • Clackmannanshire
  • Dumfries
  • Dunbartonshire
  • Dundee
  • East Lothian
  • Edinburgh
  • Fife
  • Glasgow
  • Inverness
  • Kincardineshire
  • Lanarkshire
  • Midlothian
  • Moray
  • Nairn
  • Perth and Kinross
  • Renfrewshire
  • Ross and Cromarty
  • Roxburgh, Ettrick and Lauderdale
  • Stirling and Falkirk
  • Sutherland
  • The Stewartry of Kirkcudbright
  • Tweeddale
  • West Lothian
  • Western Isles
  • Wigtown
  • Orkney
  • Shetland

Related posts

Countries in the United Kingdom
Counties of England
Counties of Northern Ireland
Counties of Wales