Counties of Wales

Flag of Wales
Image by manuel | MC

Wales was divided into 22 Principal Areas for local government purposes by the Local Government (Wales) Act 1994. 11 of them are known as Counties, and 11 are known as County Boroughs.

These 22 Principal Areas replaced the 8 Ceremonial Counties that had been created by the Local Government Act 1972. These 8 Ceremonial Counties became known as Preserved Counties, which are used for purposes such as Lieutenancy.

Principal Areas of Wales

These lists show the Counties and County Boroughs of Wales, including their Welsh language names if the primary name is English.

Counties of Wales

CountyWelsh language name
CarmarthenshireSir Gaerfyrddin
DenbighshireSir Ddinbych
FlintshireSir y Fflint
Isle of AngleseyYnys Môn
MonmouthshireSir Fynwy
PembrokeshireSir Benfro

County Boroughs of Wales

County BoroughWelsh language name
Blaenau Gwent
BridgendPen-y-bont ar Ogwr
Merthyr TydfilMerthyr Tudful
Neath Port TalbotCastell-nedd Port Talbot
Rhondda Cynon Taf
Vale of GlamorganBro Morgannwg

Preserved Counties of Wales

The use of Preserved Counties as Ceremonial Counties was consolidated by the Lieutenancies Act 1997. Each Ceremonial County has an appointed Lord Lieutenant, who acts as the Monarch's deputy. For this reason, they are also known as Lieutenancies.
The Preserved Counties of Wales are:
  • Gwent
  • South Glamorgan
  • Mid Glamorgan
  • West Glamorgan
  • Dyfed
  • Powys
  • Gwynedd
  • Clwyd

Related posts

Countries in the United Kingdom
Counties of England
Counties of Northern Ireland
Counties of Scotland